New American Paintings/Blog


Art 42 Basel Opens (PHOTOS) by openstudiospress

TOP: Francis Bacon, Marlborough Galerie | Zürich. BOTTOM: Robert Rauschenberg│Peter Freeman, New York. «Images: Courtesy of Art Basel»


George Condo, Study for the Actor, 2006. Skarstedt Gallery, New York. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


Jennifer Allora and Guillermo Calzadilla│Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


Fred Sandback, Untitled (Sculptural Study, Seven-part Right-angled Triangular Construction), 1982/2010. David Zwirner, New York. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


Jason Rhoades | Untitled (From the body of work: My Madinah: in pursuit of my ermitage…), 2004. Hauser & Wirth | David Zwirner. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


Lynda Benglis | Figure 5, 2009 | Cheim & Read, New York. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


Kurt Schwitters | MZ 312 Müdr, 1921 | Galerie Natalie Seroussi, Paris. «Courtesy of Art Basel»


James Turrell│Almine Rech Gallery, Paris. «Courtesy of Art Basel»

23 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Very cool photos. Although the one of the actor gave me the heebie jeebies. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

Comment by Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

Very cool and unusual — thanks for sharing this!

🙂

Mikalee

Comment by Mikalee Byerman

Great post. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Comment by asrai7

Incredibly inspiring. Thank you!

Comment by Allison CalamariAllison Calamari

Art is always interesting , is it not ?

Comment by Ansel

that Untitled over head instalation must look awesome!

Comment by be awake

Love looking at Fred Sandback’s, Untitled (Sculptural Study, Seven-part Right-angled Triangular Construction)- I am very seduced by the symmetry of it all…oddly soothing experience… ;o)

Comment by I Made You A Mixtape

very cool! but Study For the Actor creeps me out a bit…couldn’t wake up and see that painting in my room every morning.

Comment by Eva McCane

Wow, very interesting. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Comment by ournote2self

really unconventional and inspiring!

Comment by womenawayfromhom

How does it make me feel? Vailla ice cream drizzled with anisette. I can’t say that this is from any one piece. For me that is the overall effect. I saw comfort and well being. This includes the orange/yellow hue from the “Study for the Actor”. Rage and illusion might be nice another time. I liked every piece selected. Good post.

Comment by anonnickus

Art, something I can never understand 🙂

Comment by 7des7iny

That 2nd last Piece / Kurt Schwitters \ MZ 312 Mudr , 1921 \ Galerie Natalie Seroussi , Paris. <> 2 me like very much ” A Oeillade of Sauntering ” a true work of ART

Comment by BLaine Robert Parker

Amazing stuff! They say that the Basel fair has been very successful and finally sales are back!

Comment by ghummakkad

Great post. Art to me is beautiful and I love looking at art (even though I can’t draw to save my life), especially the pieces that make me think. Your pictures have given me lots to think about. Thanks for sharing!

Comment by creativeconfessions

A great variety here — it’s wonderful how different artwork can be. The George Condo work is creepily intriguing, like a scary clown painting you can’t tear your eyes away from. I like the piece with the illuminated words above the crowd. Thanks for sharing these photos!

Comment by zookyshirts

Great to see some Kurt Schwitters – brightened up my Tuesday no end. Thanks for the post.

Comment by richardsguest

great pics. very interesting. thanks for sharing.

Comment by suryaworldedu

Some nice work there, really like the Jason Rhoades. Thanks for sharing:)

Comment by homeflair

Great photos! I enjoyed being able to peek at some of the art.

Comment by artsreporter

I love the piece by Jason Rhoades! I looked at his work on my Foundation Art course but didnt ever see this piece…:) Thanks!

Comment by suzi

very nice

Comment by juliacastorp

I love those Bacon’s… more interesting to me then all the other put together 🙂 Although I’lll keep an eye on Condo’s work… I think he’s going places…

Comment by Paul Christian




Leave a Reply

