New American Paintings/Blog


Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth by New American Paintings
November 21, 2012, 8:25 am
Filed under: Art World, Museum Admission, On the Road | Tags: , ,

I recently went back home to Kansas City and documented my favorite spots to see contemporary art while visiting. This past weekend I traveled west again, this time to Fort Worth, Texas. My trip was short so right after landing I drove directly to the the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth. I had heard great things about the building and collection, both of which ended up meeting expectations. Although I was sad that the upstairs was closed for installation (while they didn’t mention it would be closed when I paid for admission, I should have known since it was “half price”), the first floor was packed with goodies. After the jump I’ve shared some works that caught my attention, just in case you can’t make it to the Fort Worth area anytime soon. Enjoy! – Andrew Katz, Associate Publisher


KAWS

Museum Entrance Interior

Anselm Kiefer | Book With Wings

Anselm Kiefer | Aschenblume

Anselm Kiefer | Aschenblume (Detail)


Ad Reinhardt, Mark Rothko, Ben Shahn

Mark Rothko | Light Cloud, Dark Cloud

Ben Shahn | Allegory

Ad Reinhardt | No. 6

Philip Guston | Untitled


Robert Mangold & Brice Marden

Ellsworth Kelly | Red Panel, Dark Blue Panel, Dark Green Panel

Ellsworth Kelly | Dark Blue Panel (Detail)

Ellsworth Kelly

Robert Rauschenberg | Whistle Stop (Spread)

Robert Rauschenberg | Whistle Stop (Spread)

Edward Ruscha | Standard Station 10¢ Western Being Torn In Half

Edward Ruscha | Standard Station 10¢ Western Being Torn In Half (Detail)

Roy Lichtenstein | Mr. Bellamy

Agnes Martin Installation of On A Clear Day

Agnes Martin | On A Clear Day (Detail)

Agnes Martin

Philip Guston | The Light

Robert Motherwell | Elegy to the Spanish Republic

Martin Puryear | Ladder For Booker T. Washington

Martin Puryear | Ladder For Booker T. Washington

Sol LeWitt

Sol LeWitt (Detail)

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! Why am I so far? :-)

Comment by Alessandro Paiva

Your photos are beautiful. Even though I’m local I don’t get out to the Modern nearly often enough. I’ve been waiting to see the new Mark Bradford. I was surprised you didn’t include Motherwell’s Stephen’s Iron Crown. Hope you get back soon.

Comment by John Chawner (@jchawner)

Thanks! Glad you enjoyed the post. I could have easily included more, but went with the pieces that stood out to me.

Comment by New American Paintings

Was the big David Bates sculpture “Man with Snake” out? That thing is amazing…

Comment by Matt Kleberg

I didn’t see it, where would it have been?

Comment by New American Paintings

It’s often in the last large gallery of the first floor, before you get to the smaller space with the Bill Viola piece. Here’s a pic: http://arthurrogergallery.com/wp-content/gallery/david-bates-general/david-bates-man-with-snake-732.jpg

Comment by Matt Kleberg

Don’t think it was there. They are having a big 10 year anniversary party in the next few weeks so I think they have been moving stuff around. The entire upstairs was closed in preparation. Bummed I couldn’t see the space and work.

Comment by New American Paintings

Wow! What a wonderful collection, even for half a space. Just wish it was a littler closer to Australia. Cheers

Comment by paintlater

Nice museum, great photos….

Do other people go there or is it as empty as it looks?

Comment by Siebert Tenseven

Haha! It was extremely quiet. But a Friday afternoon, and half of the museum was closed for installation. So I’m hoping it’s usually much more busy. Thanks for looking!

Comment by New American Paintings




Leave a Reply

